Weymouth takes the Win at Oxford; Bourgoine takes the championship

In Article by admin

Story by Matt Grant

Oxford, ME – The Amsoil NELCAR Legends Tour had reached their final destination in the 2014, and a champion would be crowned alongside several drivers in the divisions of the Pro All Star Series North Tour. Mathew Bourgoine came into the race having already clinched the title after his win last weekend at Wiscasset Speedway, making him the first driver to win three consecutive championships in Tour history. Bourgoine certainly put on a clinic all season long, and captured the majority of the checkered flags along the way. With nothing to lose, he hoped to grab another victory at Oxford, in quite possibly his final race in a legends car.

Darren Johnson in the 2 and Matt Chagnot in the 8 started up front for the first of two 10-lap heat races. Chagnot was able to get his black and gold Hooligan Motorsports ride out front, and held off the field to take the win over the 33 of Alan Smith and the 70 of Tylar Braunschweig. Heat 2 saw the 27 of Richard Humphrey and the 96 of Wyatt Alexander, who was making his final start in a legend, occupy the front row.

Chagnot and Smith held the honors of taking the green flag of the 25 lap feature from the front row of the grid. Bob Weymouth cruised to the checkers in the caution-free race, his first win since May 2013. Trevor Sanborn made his way to the second spot in the Cushman Competition 29, Alan Smith ran a solid race, and landed his third podium finish of the season, Mathew Bourgoine settled for a 4th place finish after trying the seemingly uncooperative outside line, and Tylar Braunschweig brought his 70 machine home in the 5th spot.

Another exciting season of racing is in the books! Next up will be the banquet in November, where Mathew Bourgoine will receive the big trophy, the top 10 drivers in points will be honored, and the teams and families can celebrate a successful 2014 season! We can’t wait to see what 2015 has in store, but until then, Happy Off-Season! Make sure to check www.NELCAR.net and the NELCAR Facebook page often, as changes and announcements will be posted throughout the winter months. Follow @NelcarLegends on Twitter as well, for all your in-race updates!

Feature Finish
1-399 Bob Weymouth – Topsham – M
2-29 Trevor Sanborn – Parsonsfield – S
3-33 Alan Smith – Lincoln – M
4-38 Mathew Bourgoine – Newport – P
5-70 Tylar Braunschweig – W. Newfield – P
6-96 Wyatt Alexander – Ellsworth – Y
7-8 Matt Chagnot – Derry, NH – M
8-00 Phillip Brackett III* – South Portland – Y
9-19 Kevin Girard Jr. – Old Orchard Beach – S
10-10 Ed Getty – Gray – M
11-27 Richard Humphrey* – Parsonsfield – M
12-81 Dan Winter – Windham, NH – S
13-42 Steve Johnson – N. Conway, NH – M
14-61 Garrett Johnson* – Cornish – S
15-2 Darren Johnson* – Pembroke, NH – M
16-72 Mike Humphrey* – Cornish – M

Heat Finish Heat 1
1-8 Chagnot
2-33 Smith
3-70 Braunschweig
4-399 Weymouth
5-10 Getty
6-00 Brackett III*
7-72 M. Humphrey*
8-2 D. Johnson*

Heat 2
1-38 Bourgoine
2-29 Sanborn
3-96 Alexander
4-19 Girard Jr.
5-81 Winter
6-27 R. Humphrey*
7-61 G. Johnson*
8-42 S. Johnson

* denotes rookie